Turmoil

A stormy wind hit my boat,
Leaving the voyage wrecked and worn,
The mighty waves were high and large,
That made me swallow some salt; it was a bizarre!
I tumbled upon the sea to gather the ruins I could,
Few I did, rest all seized in the ocean’s bed as it should.
I dived in, layer by layer, the pressure was more and darkness surpassing all measures ,
With breath no longer in my lungs; I strived for more.
A sudden shimmer hazed my view,
A pearl was it resting in an oyster under the blue,
Struck at once by the its glowing hue.
The depths offered me a gift that I thought the waves could.
The salt made its way through my eyes,
That were blurred by the windy skies.

The sea is calm as ever before,
Leaving me in a state to find a meaning and more.
Shall I moan of the wreck suffered, or rejoice the retreat by the depths of azure?

I hope I can ever be sure!

7 thoughts on “Turmoil

  1. Well written….and an apt title…turmoil. A turmoil both in literal sense and the onr in mind…..depicted beautifully by the last few lines…..superb…!!! keep it up.

    Like

  2. That’s a great piece Nazneen. You have very nicely depicted the discovery of the hidden pearl, the magical attitude towards looking at things in the turmoil we experience in our life.Truly enough he who can see the pearl and the azure can go up the hill.
    This piece is fit to be published.
    How do you go about.
    Congrats.
    Assalaam Alikum.
    Mohanty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

